WPCA Honors Those Who Achieved Greatness In 2019

A night of celebration took take place on October 26th at the Grey Eagle Casino in Calgary with the 39th annual World Professional Chuckwagon Association (WPCA) Awards Gala that honored those who achieved greatness this past season, as well as those who have contributed to the growth and prosperity of the most exciting professional sport in the world today.

The evening was a tremendous success, with one of the highlights being the video presentations highlighting the 2019 season and all the champions who were well received by a near capacity crowd.

As well, the WPCA remembered those who "went west" over the past year which included active supporters Donald Cross, Dr. Gary Harbin, Ray Ostrom, Rick Smith and Wayne Scaddan, champion chuckwagon horse Comet, and former competitors Terry Vigen and Hugh Greenwood.

Kurt Bensmiller was the top honoree this year as he captured the 2019 World Chuckwagon Championship for the 3rd consecutive year and the 4th time in his illustrious career, and Rory Gervais was the 2019 World Champion Outrider for the for the second consecutive year. 

2019 World Champion Outrider Rory Gervais (L) receives a trophy buckle from WPCA President Ed Wittchen (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


The Jim Bottomley Trophy given to the WPCA Chuckwagon Person of the Year is the WPCA’s highest annual honor. This year’s recipient being WPCA Marketing Manager Bryan Hebson receiving the prestigious award.

The 2019 "Jim Bottomley Trophy" for WPCA Chuckwagon Person of the Year was presented to recipient Bryan Hebson
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

The George Normand Lifetime Builder's Award was given to former driver Jerry Bremner who accepted the award in an emotional speech.

The 2019 George Normand Lifetime Bilder's Award was presented to recipient Jerry Bremner (L) and his wife Donna Bremner (C) from WPCA President Ed Wittchen (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


The WPCA Special Tribute was given to former chuckwagon great Hugh Sinclair. Vern Nolin received the WPCA Clean Drive Award for least penalized driver for the second consecutive year.

Wendy Daniel (L) of the Ranchmans Cookhouse and Dance Hall presents a commemorative statue to former driver Hugh Sinclair (R) for being recognized with the 2019 WPCA Special Tribute Award.
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


The Herman Flad Memorial Award for Most Improved Driver went to sophomore driver Josh Hrynuik, while Rory Armstrong received the Rod Glass Memorial Award for Most Improved Outrider. 

Josh Hrynyk (L), the recipient of the Herman Flad Memorial Award revives a trophy buckle from chuckwagon driver Troy Flad (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk



Rory Armstrong (L), the recipient of the Rod Glass Memorial Award revives a trophy buckle from Loreena MacGillivray (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


Chance Flad was named the WPCA's Top Rookie Driver, and Hayden Motowylo was named the WPCA Top Rookie Outrider.

Chance Flad L), the recipient of the WPCA Top Rookie Driver revives a trophy buckle from  Shelby Lockwood of Olson Silver Company (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


Hayden Motowylo (L), the recipient of the WPCA Top Rookie Outrider receives a trophy buckle from Cynthia Williams of                           William Joseph Communications (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


The horses also shared in the awards through the WPCA Equine Outfit of Excellence. Equine outfit of Excellence winners included “JACK” of Logan Gorst’s outfit on Right Lead, “HAWK” of Vern Nolin’s outfit on Left Lead, “TEX” of Chanse Vigen’s outfit on Right Wheel, “LUTESIFER” of Kurt Bensmiller’s outfit on Left Wheel, and “NIGHTLY” of Doug Irvine’s outfit and “Barb” of Mark Sutherland’s outfit were the champion Outriding Horses.

Outrider Eddie Melville (2nd from right) from Import Tool Corp. Ltd., presents the 2019 Equine Outfit of Excellence Awards to:

(L-R): Rory Gervais on behalf of Mark Sutherland's horse "BARB,"

Britt and Doug Irvine on behalf of his horse “NIGHTLY,”

Rochelle Normandin on behalf of Chanse Vigen's horse “Tex.”

Kurt Bensmiller on behalf of his horse "LUTESIFER,"

Brendan Nolin on behalf of Vern Nolin's horse “HAWK,” 

Logan Gorst on behalf of his horse "JACK,"


Jenifer Dorchester (C), the recipient of the Ty Tournier Memorial Award revives a trophy bracelett from Lynn Fountain (L) and Steve Fountain (R).
Photo By Fred Vidiuk


Other award winners included Walter Fritsche, Nathan Stone, Gina Berreth and Precede who each received a WPCA Active Supporter Award, Century Downs Racetrack and Casino received the WPCA Top Race Committee Award, Jamie Tiessen received the WPCA Media Award, Jenifer Dorchester  received the Ty Tournier Memorial Award, while Lyle Bates and Harvey McKernon received Special Recognition from the WPCA.

The event, hosted by track announcer Jodi Hughes was a tremendous success, and congratulations to all the 2019 champions and award winners.

Billy Melville

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram