WORLD PROFESSIONAL CHUCKWAGON ASSOCIATION

OFFICIAL WEBSITE
POWERED BY:
Powered by GMC
WPCA

Kurt Bensmiller Jumps To The Lead After Two Runs At The Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship

Kurt Bensmiller – First In All Categories After Day 2 In Bonnyville
Photo By Shellie Scott

Day 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship was run on a cloudy Friday evening with a short downpour partway through the evening’s races. However, it didn’t dampen anyone’s spirits and 4-time World Chuckwagon Champion Kurt Bensmiller, driving the Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit, was number one on the night after posting a run of 1:17.02.

From barrel position number one in the final heat of the nigh, Bensmiller bested local favorite Doug Irvine by a large 1.81 second margin. Bensmiller’s second wagon placed third, Jordie Fike was fourth, and Obrey Motowylo rounded out the top five on the night.

With just one night to go to try and make the top 3 and get a spot in Sunday’s Championship final, Kurt Bensmiller’s Reita Creek Scoreboards outfit leads the overall aggregate with a two-run total of 2:36.47. That puts him 1.7 seconds ahead of Doug Irvine, with day 1 winner Chanse Vigen holds down the third and final qualifying spot. Chance Flad is in the crying hole right now, 92 one-hundredths of a second out of third hole, with Kurt Bensmiller’s number one wagon rounding out the top five overall after two nights.

The top 3 wagons after Saturday’s run will compete in the Championship Final Heat on Sunday, where the winner will take home the 2021 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship.

Day 3 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard live on Saturday, August 7, 2021, on WPCA Radio at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio.

Billy Melville

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram