Powered by GMC

Roger Moore Wins The 2022 Battle Of The Rockies

2022 Battle Of The Rockies Champions
Optimum Equipment Solutions Outfit
(L-R): Driver Roger Moore, Outriders Brendan Nolin and Rory Gervais
Photo By Billy Melville

It was a big day in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta as the 2022 Battle of the Rockies wrapped up Sunday afternoon. There was a lot on the line on day 4 as the 2022 Battle of the Rockies Championship would all be determined, as well it was the last chance for the drivers to try and make the top twelve in the World Standings for a spot in the playoff round for a chance at the big money at the season ending Century Downs and Casino World Finals which starts Wednesday night.

In the chase for the Battle of the Rockies championship it was Roger Moore, driving the Optimum Equipment Solutions outfit, and outriders Brendan Nolin and Rory Gervais, emerged as champions of the 2022 Battle of the Rockies after posting the best 4-day aggregate time of 5:08.23. That put him 1.54 second in front of runner-up Layne MacGillivray, followed closely by Dean Dreger. Obrey Motowylo was fourth overall and Wade Salmond completed the top five overall. It’s the first show win for Roger Moore whose last wins came at the Ponoka Stampede and the Colonial Day Fair back in 2013.

On the day, Codey McCurrach and his TOMCO Group of Companies Ltd. outfit. were the day money winners by a large 1.46 second margin after posting a run of 1:16:49, from barrel number 4 in the sixth heat. Obrey Motowylo was second, with Kris Molle, Layne MacGillivray, and Vern nolin rounding out the top five on the afternoon.

The twelve drivers who have now officially qualified for the Century Downs Winner’s Zone Playoff Round include Layne MacGillivray, Obrey Motowylo, Kurt Bensmiller, Rae Croteau Jr., Kris Molle, Kirk Sutherland, Chad Fike, Jason Glass, Vern Nolin, Doug Irvine, Chanse Vigen and Ross Knight. Jordie Fike ended up in the crying hole, just 43.5 points behind Jordie Fike.

These 12 drivers have now qualified for the 4-day playoff round at Century Downs.   The top 4 drivers with the most playoff points will advance to the CENTURY DOWNS WINNERS' ZONE Year End Championship Dash. $75,000.00 will be awarded in the final race. The World Champion Chuckwagon Driver will be declared on Saturday night as the driver who accumulated the most number of points over the course of the season.

The 2022 WPCA Pro Tour will move to Century Downs Racetrack and Casino just outside of Calgary, Alberta for the season ending Century Downs Word Finals starting on Wednesday, August 24, 2022 and running through to Sunday, August 28, 2022. Live radio coverage of the Century Downs Word Finals can be heard Wednesday through Saturday on Real Country 910, or seen on the Cowboy Channel + Streaming  App, starting at 8:30pm Eastern, 7:30pm Central and 6:30pm Mountain Time, with Sundays final starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central and 2:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram