WORLD PROFESSIONAL CHUCKWAGON ASSOCIATION

OFFICIAL WEBSITE
POWERED BY:
Powered by GMC
WPCA

Obrey Motowylo Survives A Rainy Night 2 At The Ponoka Stampede

Obrey Motowylo - Fast Time On A Rainy Night 2 In Ponoka
Photo By Shellie Scott

It was a cool rainy Wednesday night as night two of the Ponoka Stampede was run on a heavy racetrack. Despite some slower times, it was an entertaining night of chuckwagon races at one of the sports premiere events. When the night wrapped up, reigning World Champion Chuckwagon Driver Obrey Motowylo capped off with the fast run after posting a 1:20.00.

Coming off barrel number 1 in the 9th heat, Motowylo - driving the Co-operators outfit - placed first on the night by 41 one-hundredths of a second over Rae Croteau Jr.. Ross Knight placed third, Jordie Fike was fourth, while Troy Flad and Darcy Flad split fifth and sixth on the night.

Troy Flad took over first place in the overall aggregate standings with a two-run total of 2:36.85. That puts him 54 one-hundredths of a second ahead of Jordie Fike, with Ross Knight, Kurt Bensmiller and Obrey Motowylo in close pursuit. Mitch Sutherland, Kelly Morin’s outfit, which is being driven by Doug Irvine, and Rae Croteau Jr.  complete the top 8, with Chance Thomson and Chanse Vigen  just on the outside looking in.

The top 8 in the aggregate after Friday night’s run will go into the semi-final round on Saturday night in heats 7 and 9. The top 4 times from the semi-final round on June 30 will go into the Tommy Dorchester Sudden Death Championship final heat where the winner will take home the 2022 Ponoka Stampede Championship.

Day 3 of the Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Radio live on Thursday night, June 30, 2022 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Real Country 910.

Billy Melville

 

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram