WORLD PROFESSIONAL CHUCKWAGON ASSOCIATION

OFFICIAL WEBSITE
POWERED BY:
Powered by GMC
WPCA

Obrey Motowylo Captures The 2021 Battle Of The North

2021 Battle Of the North Champions
Vold Jones & Vold Auction Co Ltd. – Dawson Creek Outfit

(L-R): DCEA’s Dwayne Paulovich & Joanne Nelson Presenting,
Outrider Ethan Motowylo, Driver Obrey Motowylo, Outrider Hayden Motowylo
Photo By Bryan Hebson

The 2021 edition of the Battle of the North Championship in Dawson Creek, British Columbia is in the books, and Obrey Motowylo, driving the Vold Jones & Vold Auction Co Ltd. – Dawson Creek outfit, and along with outriders Ethan Motowylo and Hayden Motowylo, captured the championship and a $12,000.00 bonus cheque.

Obrey Motowylo won the championship with penalty free run of 1:14.67 from barrel position number 2. Chance Bensmiller, who was driving his brother Kurt’s second outfit in a championship final for the second consecutive show, crossed the finish line first, was assessed a 1 second penalty for his wagon starting ahead of the horn placed second from barrel number 4, 81 one-hundredths of a second behind the champion Obrey Motowylo. Kris Molle grabbed third from barrel position number 3, while Kurt Bensmiller placed fourth from barrel position number 1.

As far as the day results go, Obrey Motowylo’s championship winning run also held up for the fast time of the night, just 1 one-hundredth of a second better than Kirk Sutherland who placed second with his number one outfit. Sutherland’s number two outfit was right behind in third place, Kurt Bensmiller’s second wagon, which was being driven by Chance Bensmiller placed fourth, with Wade Salmond filling out the five best times on the night. Layne MacGillivray was presented with the Kenn Borek Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver award.

The 2021 WPCA Pro Tour will move onto Rocky Mountain House, Alberta for the Battle of the Rockies starting on Friday, August 20, 2021, and running through to Sunday, August 22, 2021. Live radio coverage of the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House can be heard Friday through Saturday on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM, starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central and 7:00pm Mountain Time, with Sunday’s final starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central and 2:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram