Powered by GMC

Doug Irvine Captures 1st Career Grande Prairie Stompede Championship

2022 Grande Prairie Stompede Champions
Swab Pro (2018) Ltd. Outfit
(L-R): Grande Prairie Stompede Association's Dan Boorse Presenting, Outrider Rory Gervais,
Driver Doug Irvine, Outider Tyson Whitehead, Grande Prairie Stompede Association
President Trevor Denis Presenting
Photo By Billy Melville

It was a highly anticipated final day at the Grande Prairie Stompede with $35,000.00 and the 2022 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship on the line. In what was truly an exciting chuckwagon race, Doug Irvine – driving the Swab Pro (2018) Ltd. Outfit, and along with outriders Rory Gervais and Tyson Whitehead, captured the first show of the 2022 WPCA race season. Its the first time Doug Irvine has won the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship, and the first WPCA show championship win for outrider Tyson Whitehead.

In what was a truly exciting chuckwagon race that saw three of the four wagons run three abreast all around the racetrack and finish within a half a second of each other, Irvine captured the Grande Prairie crown with a penalty free run of 1:18:33 after coming off barrel position number 2 in the championship death final. Kirk Sutherland from barrel position number 1 placed second in the heat, just 5 one-hundredths of a second behind the winner Irvine. Chad Fike finished in third place from barrel position number 3, followed Kale Lajeunesse who placed a distant fourth in the heat from barrel number 4.

As far as day results go, Kris Molle driving the Hansen Ford outfit had the fast time on the night with a 1:17.47 and was the only driver to crack the 1:18.00 barrier on the night. Cody Ridsdale had the second fastest time on the night, three-quarters of a second behind Molle, with 2022 Grande Prairie Champion Doug Irvine placing third, with Kirk Sutherland and Obrey Motowylo splitting fourth and fifth on the final night.

The WPCA Pro Tour presented by GMC will move on to Bonnyville, Alberta for the running of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship starting on Thursday, June 2 and running through to Sunday, June 5, 2022. Kurt Bensmiller is the defending champion, and live coverage can be heard starting Thursday night, June 2, 2019 on Real Country 910 starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, 7:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

Latest News

More News

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram