Obrey Motowylo Captures Grande Prairie Stompede For The Second Time In Three Years

2017 Grande Prairie Stompede Champions
H & E Oilfield Serviuces Outfit

(L-R): Outrider Chad Cosgrave, Driver Obrey Motowylo, Outrider Ethan Motowylo
Photo By Billy Melville

It was great racetrack and a highly anticipated final day at the Grande Prairie Stompede with $25,000.00 and the 2017 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship on the line. In what was truly an exciting chuckwagon race, Obrey Motowylo – driving the H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. Outfit, and along with outriders Chad Cosgrave and Ethan Motowylo, captured the first show of the 2017 WPCA race season.

Coming off of barrel position number 4 in the sudden death final, Motowylo captured Grande Prairie crown with a penalty free run of 1:18.89. Rick Fraser from barrel position number 2 placed second in the heat, just 23 one-hundredths of a second behind the winner Motowylo. Layne MacGillivray placed third from barrel position number 3, and Ross Knight placed fourth in the heat from barrel number 1.

As far as day results go, Gary Gorst won the day money after posting the fast time of the night with a 1:17.99, and was the only driver to break the 1:18.00 mark on the night. Even with a two second outrider penalty, Chanse Vigen managed a second-place run, followed by Kurt Bensmiller, Mike Vigen and Luke Tournier filling out the top five on the final night.

The WPCA Pro Tour presented will move on to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the running of the Ashley Richards Memorial presented by Dakota Dunes Casino starting on Thursday, June 8 and running through to Sunday, June 11, 2017. Vern Nolin is the defending champion, and live coverage can be heard starting Thursday night, June 8, 2017 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:000pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville