News

John Walters Opens Up The 2019 Battle Of The North With The Top Time

John Walters - Former Champ Posts Top Time On Night 1 In Dawson Creek
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

The weather was a little unsettling on Mile “0” of the Alaska Highway in Dawson Creek, British Columbia forcing the cancellation of nights one and two of the Battle of the North. As a result, a new twist this year as there will be three wagons per heat for three days allowing all drivers to have an equal turn around the barrels, and then on the final night, the races revert back to its traditional four wagons per heat with a four wagon sudden death final to determine the 2019 Battle of the North champion on Monday. Ross Knight came into this year’s event as the defending champion, track conditions were sluggish, and when the races were complete it was 2017 Battle of the North Champion John Walters who emerged with the fast time of the night with a 1:26.82.

From barrel number 3 in the 8th heat, Walters bested the defending Battle of the North Champion Ross Knight by just 12 one-hundredths of a second. Chanse Vigen placed third, Doug Irvine was fourth and Gary Gorst rounded out the top five on the night.

The top driver in the aggregate after Sunday night will get the use of a 2019 GMC Truck. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Sunday’s run will go into the championship final heat where the winner will take home a big bonus cheque, and the 2019 Battle of the North Championship.

Night 2 of the Battle of the North from Dawson Creek, British Columbia can be heard live on Saturday, August 10, 2019 on WPCA Radio at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, and 7:30pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, Real Country 910am, or on the WPCA Radio App.

Billy Melville

 


FLO 728 X 90