News

Defending Champion Kurt Bensmiller Takes Over The Lead On Day 3 Of The Strathmore Stampede

Kurt Bensmiller - Defending Champ In Great Shape After Night 3 In Strathmore
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

For the third consecutive night it was perfect conditions both weather wise and racetrack wise at the Strathmore Stampede on Sunday night. Some great races were witnessed by a capacity crowd, and defending champion Kurt Bensmiller, posted the fast time of the race meet so far with a run of 1:14.12.

From barrel position number 3 in the 9th heat, Bensmiller, driving the Versatile Energy Services Ltd. rig was 16 one-hundredths of a second faster than World points leader Vern Nolin who placed second. Ross Knight was third, Chanse Vigen despite a one-second penalty was fourth and Mitch Sutherland completed the top 5 on the night.

After 3 runs, Kurt Bensmiller’s Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit now overtakes the lead in the overall aggregate standings with a three-day combined time of 3:44.33. That’s puts him just 26 one-hundredths ahead of defending Vern Nolin, with Kirk Sutherland in third, with Mark Sutherland holding down fourth and Logan Gorst in fifth place overall. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2019 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

The finals of the of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Monday, August 4, 2019 at 3:00pm ET, 2:00pm CT and 1:00pm MT on Country 99 in Bonnyville and Real Country 910am, with a delayed broadcast at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio.

Billy Melville


FORTIS AD 2019