News

Mark Sutherland Sits Atop The Standings On Night 2 Of The Strathmore Stampede

Mark Sutherland - Number One Everywhere After Night 2 In Strathmore
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

Night 2 of the Strathmore Stampede was run on a hot dry Saturday evening. Racetrack conditions were once again excellent, the stands were filled to maximum capacity, and some outstanding finishes were witnessed by the Strathmore chuckwagon fans. When things wrapped up for the evening, Mark Sutherland came out on top with the fast run of the night with a run of 1:14.56.

From barrel position number 2 in the 8th heat, Sutherland, driving the Friends of Sutherland Racing/Brand USA rig were 65 one-hundredths of a second faster than John Walters. Kirk Sutherland placed third, with Vern Nolin and Obrey Motowylo filling out the top 5 on the night.

The day money run vaulted Mark Sutherland to the top of the overall aggregate standings with a two-day combined time of 2:29.54. That’s puts him 62 one-hundredths of a second ahead of Kirk Sutherland, with Logan Gorst in third, defending Strathmore Champion Kurt Bensmiller holding down fourth place overall with John Walters outfit rounding out the top five. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2019 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

Night 3 of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard on Sunday, August 4, 2019 at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville


FLO 728 X 90