News

Gary Gorst Has Fast Time Of The Week On Night 3 Of The Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races

Gary Gorst - Fast Time Of The Week On Night 3 In Saskatoon
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

It was a cool and windy Saturday evening at Prairieland Park in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the third day of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races. Racetrack conditions were very good, races were tight, and times were fast. When the sun finally set on Saskatoon, it was Gary Gorst who emerged with the top time on the night with a penalty free run of 1:16.54.

From barrel number two in the fifth heat, Gorst, driving the Flying Dust First Nation outfit, was the day money winner by just 6 one-hundredths of a second over Kirk Sutherland. Evan Salmond, Jordie Fike and Darcy Flad filled out the top five times on the night.

Kirk Sutherland, driving the Red Deer Motors Outfit have overtaken the lead in the overall aggregate standings with a three-day combined time of 3:53.15. That puts him 54 one-hundredths of a second better than day money winner Gary Gorst, with Codey McCurrach, Mitch Sutherland and Evan Salmond completing the top five wagons after three nights of running. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2019 Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races.

The final run of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races can be heard live on Sunday afternoon, June 9, 2019 at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville


FLO 728 X 90