News

Chanse Vigen Moves To Number One After A Day Money Run On Night 2 In Saskatoon

Chanse Vigen - First Place Everywhere On Night 2 In Saskatoon
Photo By Fred Vidiuk

It was a cool windy Friday night at Prairieland Park in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the second day of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races. Racetrack conditions were excellent once again and times were reasonably fast, and when the times were handed out, Chanse Vigen bested the field with the top time on the night with a penalty free run of 1:17.25.

From barrel number two in the fourth heat, Vigen, driving the Quick Mats outfit, was the day money winner by 46 one-hundredths of a second over former Saskatoon champion Gary Gorst who grabbed second place on the night. Layne MacGillivray was third, with defending champion Kurt Bensmiller and Vern Nolin splitting fourth and fifth on the night.

The day money run vaulted Chanse Vigen and his Quick Mats outfit to the top of the overall aggregate standings with a two-day combined time of 2:35.37. That puts him 32 one-hundredths of a second in front of Codey McCurrach, with a trio of former Saskatoon Champions - Kurt Bensmiller, Vern Nolin and Kirk Sutherland completing the top five wagons after two nights of running. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2019 Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races.

Night 3 of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races can be heard live on Saturday night, June 8, 2019 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville

 

 

 

 


FORTIS AD 2019