News

Gary Gorst Cashes The First Place Cheque On Night 3 Of The 2018 Battle Of The Rockies


Gary Gorst - First Place On Night 3 In Rocky Mountain House
Photo By Shellie Scott

It was a cool, smoky night at the final stop of the 2018 WPCA Pro Tour at the Battle of the Rockies in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, but it didn’t damper the enthusiasm of the capacity crowd on hand to watch all of the excitement of night number 3. Kurt Bensmiller, in search of his third World Chuckwagon Championship, came into the show leading the way, With every passing run, Bensmiller inches closer to capturing the year end prize of being World Champion Chuckwagon Driver will be declared Sunday afternoon.

Day money on night 3 went to Gary Gorst who piloted his MRC Global outfit to a 1:15.13 from barrel 1 in heat 7. That run was 15 one-hundredths of a second faster than Dayton Sutherland who placed second for the second consecutive night. Doug Irvine placed third, Troy Flad placed fourth, while Kirk Sutherland filled out the top five on the evening.

Two consecutive second place runs the past two performances has Dayton Sutherland on top of the overall aggregate standings with a three-run total time of 3:46.57. That puts him 2.91 seconds in front of Logan Gorst who sits in second place overall. Gary Gorst moved up into 3rd place overall, while Doug Irvine and Codey McCurrach sit 4th and 5th respectively, The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will take home the 2018 Battle of the Rockies Championship.

The final day of the final stop final stop of the 2018 WPCA Pro Tour at the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House can be heard live on Saturday night, August 18, 2018 on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM, Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, and 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta, starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central and 2:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

 

 


GMC 2017