News

Kirk Sutherland Takes The Day Money On Night 3 Of The Strathmore Stampede

Kirk Sutherland - 1st Place On Night 3 In Strathmore
Photo By Carol Easton

For the third consecutive night it was perfect conditions both weather wise and racetrack wise at the Strathmore Stampede on Sunday night. Some great races were witnessed by a capacity crowd, and Kirk Sutherland, was tops of the night with a run of 1:15.80.

From barrel position number 1 in the 9th heat, Sutherland, driving the Rob Knight Trucklines rig was 42 one-hundredths of a second faster than reigning Calgary Stampede Champion Kurt Bensmiller who placed second for the second consecutive night. Evan Salmond, Chad Fike and Luke Tournier completed the top 5 on the night.

After 3 runs, Kurt Bensmiller’s Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit continues to lead the overall aggregate standings with a three-day combined time of 3:47.18. That’s puts him a huge 2.55 seconds ahead of defending Strathmore Stampede Champion Gary Gorst, with Dustin Gorst in third, with Mitch Sutherland holding down both fourth and fifth place overall with Mike Vigen’s outfit and his own respectively. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2018 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

The finals of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Sunday, August 6, 2018 starting at 3:00pm ET, 2:00pm CT and 1:00pm MT on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, with a tape delayed broadcast at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM.

Billy Melville

 


2016 Fortis Alberta 728x90