News

Mitch Sutherland Drives Mike Vigen's Wagon To A First Place Run On Night 2 In Strathmore


Mitch Sutherland - Pinch Hits The Vigen Wagon To A Home Run
Photo By Shellie Scott

It was another outstanding night of chuckwagon racing and despite some afternoon rains, racetrack conditions were very good as day 2 of the Strathmore Stampede was run on Saturday night. Some fantastic finishes were witnessed by the Strathmore fans, and Mitch Sutherland, helping out injured driver Mike Vigen, came out on top with the fast run of the night with a run of 1:15.69.

From barrel position number 1 in the 5th heat, Sutherland, driving SPR Construction Inc. rig were 7 one-hundredths of a second faster than reigning Calgary Stampede Champion Kurt Bensmiller. Defending Strathmore Stampede champion Gary Gorst placed third, with Evan Salmond and Chanse Vigen filling out the top 5 on the night.

After 2 runs, Kurt Bensmiller’s Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit tops all with a two-day combined time of 2:30.96. That’s puts him 86 one-hundredths of a second ahead of Gary Gorst, with Dustin Gorst in third, with Mitch Sutherland holding down both fourth and fifth place overall with Mike Vigen’s outfit and his own respectively. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2018 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

Night 3 of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Sunday, August 5, 2018 starting at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


GMC 2017