News

Doug Irvine Opens Up 2018 Strathmore Stampede With The Top Run

Doug Irvine - Day Money Run On Night 1 In Strathmore
Photo By Paul Easton

After a long two-week break following the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed Friday night in Strathmore for the Strathmore Stampede where Gary Gorst came into this years event as the defending champion. It was a warm but windy summer evening, track conditions were excellent, and Doug Irvine set the pace by cashing in first prize on the night.

From barrel position number 4 in the 7th heat, Irvine, driving the B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. outfit, posted the fast time of the night with a run of 1:15.12. Second place on the night went to defending champion Gary Gorst, just 5 one-hundredths of a second behind the Irvine wagon, with Kurt Bensmiller, Kirk Sutherland and Dustin Gorst rounding out the top five on the night. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2018 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

Night 2 of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Saturday, August 4, 2018 starting at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio Channel 147 on SiriusXM and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort