Kurt Bensmiller Now On Top After Night 3 Of The Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby

Kurt Bensmiller - Tops All On Night 3 In Calgary
Photo By Paul Easton

For the third consecutive day, temperature’s were in excess of 30°C as night 3 of the GMC Rangeland Derby ran on Sunday night under perfect racetrack conditions once again. When the dust finally settled, it was the defending GMC Rangelnd Derby Champion Kurt Bensmiller who emerged with the fast time of the night after piloting his Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit to a rapid time of 1:12.00.

From barrel number 4 in the 9th heat, Bensmiller was the top wagon on the night by 4 one-hundredths of a second over Mike Vigen’s outfit which has been driven by Chanse Vigen all three days. Vern Nolin was third on the night, with Logan Gorst and B.J. Carey filling out the top five on the night.

Kurt Bensmiller now leads the overall aggregate standings with a three-day total of 3:35.61. That puts him a 47 one-hundredths of a second ahead of previous overall leader Kris Molle. Vern Nolin moves up into third place overall, with Ray Mitsuing and Todd Baptiste in 4th and 5th place respectively. Rick Fraser, Gary Gorst and Evan Salmond and make up the top eight after night 2, with B.J Carey and Jamie Laboucane right behind in 9th and 10th respectively.

The Richard Cosgrave Memorial Trophy, symbolic of the Calgary Stampede aggregate winner will be declared after 8 nights on Friday, July 13, and the top 8 in the aggregate on that day will go into “Semi Final Saturday.” The top 4 times from the two semi-final heats on semi on Saturday on July 14 will go into the winner-take-all championship final heat. The winner of the final heat will be declared the 2018 Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby Champion.

Live coverage of day 4 of the 2018 GMC Rangeland Derby can be heard starting at 7:30 on Monday, July 9, 2018 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, and AM 700 The Light out of Calgary. Television coverage can be seen live on CBC and Sportsnet One all ten nights starting at 8:00pm.

Billy Melville