Final Four Set For The Championship Final Of The 2018 Grande Prairie Stompede

Evan Salmond - First On the Night, First Overall At the Grande Prairie Stompede
Photo By Paul Easton

Night 4 of the Grande Prairie Stompede was the final night for the drivers to try and qualify for Sunday’s Championship Final Heat where the winner will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque and the 2018 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship. When the aggregate times were calculated Evan Salmond, Kurt Bensmiller, Chad Harden, and Kirk Sutherland will be the four drivers bidding for the championship.

Evan Salmond, driving the Debolt Contracting outfit, qualified for Sunday’s final in first place overall with a four-day combined time of 5:10.19 and will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award for having the best aggregate time, and a year’s use of a brand new GMC Truck compliments of Summit Fleet. Former Grande Prairie Stompede Champion Kurt Bensmiller qualified in second place overall, with Chad Harden jumping up from sixth place overall yesterday into third place overall, with Kirk Sutherland hanging on to fourth and final place in Sunday’s championship final. Cody Ridsdale missed out of the final four, finishing fifth overall and missing the championship final by just 33 one-hundredths of a second.

On the night, Evan Salmond was the William Joseph Communications Fast Time of the Night winner on a perfect night from barrel four in the seventh heat, and earned top spot in Sunday’s Championship Final. Salmond’s Debolt Contracting outfit placed first on the day by 11 one-hundredths of a second over Chad Harden, with Kurt Bensmiller, Cody Ridsdale and Luke Tournier filling out the top five on the night.

The final night of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Sunday night, June 3, 2018 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

GMC 2019 Temp