Kurt Bensmiller Takes Top Time On Night 2 In Grande Prairie

Kurt Bensmiller - Number One On Night Two Of The Grande Prairie Stompede
Photo By Paul Easton

It was a good night of racing on night 2 of the Stompede. Racetrack conditions were great and some outstanding chuckwagon races were witnessed by a near capacity crowd. When the night wrapped up, it was reigning World Champion Kurt Bensmiller who took the William Joseph Communications Fast Time of the Night after a penalty free run of 1:17.68.

It was originally thought Rick Fraser had taken the day money, but a starting ahead of the horn penalty was removed from Kurt Bensmiller and he was awarded the top time. Coming off barrel number 4 in heat number 9, Bensmiller, driving the Trans Peace Construction outfit placed first overall for the day by just 19 one-hundredths of a second over Rick Fraser, with Evan Salmond placing third, Jordie Fike placing fourth, with Bob Van Eaton rounding out the top five on the night.

After two runs, Evan Salmond leads the Grande Prairie Stompede with a two day total of 2:35.49. That puts him just 15 one-hundredths of a seconds ahead of Rick Fraser who sits second, Kurt Bensmiller is third and Bob Van Eaton holding down fourth place overall. Cody Ridsdale and Kirk Sutherland are currently tied for fifth and sixth overall just 22 one-hundredths of a second out of fourth hole.

The top wagon in the aggregate after Saturday's run will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award and the use of a new GMC Truck for one year. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday night will go into the championship final heat on Sunday where the winner will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque and the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

Day three of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Friday night, June 1, 2018 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

GMC 2019 Temp