Kirk Sutherland Opens Up 2018 With The Top Time

Kirk Sutherland - 1st Place On First Night In Grande Prairie
Photo By Paul Easton

The start of the 2018 chuckwagon season kicked off on Wednesday night with the 41st running of the Grande Prairie Stompede. Obrey Motowylo came into this year’s event as the defending Grande Prairie Stompede Champion, and Kurt Bensmiller came into the 2018 season as the reigning World Champion Chuckwagon Driver.

Weather conditions were cool under cloudy skies, racetrack conditions were very good, and some spectacular chuckwagon races were seen by the Grande Prairie fans on opening night of the professional chuckwagon season nonetheless. When the night wrapped up it was hometown hero Kirk Sutherland who opened up the 2018 season with the William Joseph Communications Fast Time of the Night with a fast run of 1:17.03.

Coming off barrel number 1 in heat number 6, Sutherland, driving the Daler Pressure Services outfit placed first overall for the day by 44 one-hundredths of a  second over Evan Salmond who placed 2nd overall for the night. Vern Nolin, Obrey Motowylo and Rick Fraser rounded out the top five on opening night. Chanse Vigen, driving in the third heat, upset his wagon and received a no time.

The top wagon in the aggregate after Saturday's run will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award and the use of a new GMC Truck for one year. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday night will go into the championship final heat on Sunday where the winner will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque and the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

Day two of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Thursday night, May 31, 2018 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville



GMC 2019 Temp