Kurt Bensmiller Wins Second World Championship; Dustin Gorst Captures First Career Title At The 2017 Battle Of The Rockies

Left: 2017 World Chuckwagon Champions
Back Row (L_R) :
2017 World Champion Chuckwagon Driver Kurt Bensmiller, Ashley Bensmiller, Outriders Rory Gervais & Shawn Calf Robe. Front Row (L-R): Hayze Bensmiller,  Vahn Bensmiller, Harlee Bensmiller

Right: 2017 Battle Of The Rockies Champions
Blackjack Livestock Co./A1 Cement Contractors Ltd. Outfit

(L-R): Driver Dustin Gorst, Jaycee Gorst, Klinch Gorst, Outriders Quaid Tournier & Casey Knight
Photos By Shellie Scott

It was a big day in Rocky Mountain House, Albeta as the 2017 season wrapped up Sunday afternoon. Chuckwagon Legend Kelly Sutherland was making his last run of his 50 year career, and there was a lot on the line on day 4 of the Battle of the Rockies. Two world champions would be declared, as well as the 2017 Battle of the Rockies Championship would all be determined in a pressure packed Sunday afternoon in Rocky Mountain House.

Kurt Bensmiller won his second career World Chuckwagon Championship by 163.5 points over John Walters. Layne MacGillivray had his best overall finish in the World Standings placing third, two-time World Champion Rick Fraser was fourth and Logan Gorst placed fifth. Casey Knight captured his first career World Outriding title as well.

In the chase for the season ending Battle of the Rockies championship, Dustin Gorst, driving the Blackjack Livestock Ltd. outfit, and outriders Casey Knight and Quaid Tournier, the run they needed to emerge as champions of the 2017 Battle of the Rockies. It’s the first career show win for Dustin Gorst as a chuckwagon driver.

Dustin Gorst captured the 2017 Battle of the Rockies after posting the best 4-day aggregate time of 5:06.38. That put him 56 one-hundredths second in front of runner-up Gary Gorst, followed closely by Rick Fraser’s #2 wagon. Logan Gorst was fourth and Rick Fraser’s #1 wagon completed the top five overall in the season ending event.

On the day, Vern Nolin was tops with a 1:16.11, from barrel number 1 in the fifth heat. Roger Moore was second, with Rick Fraser’s #2 wagon,  Logan Gorst and Rick Fraser’s #1 wagon rounding out the top five on the afternoon

Equine outfit of Excellence winners included “DANCER” of John Walter’s outfit on Right Lead, “GT” of Gary Gorst’s outfit on Left Lead, “TENTH POWER” of Kurt Bensmiller’s outfit on Right Wheel, “SLICK” of Chanse Vigen’s outfit on Left Wheel, and “CALM” of Jason Glass’ outfit and “ZIP” of Evan Salmond’s outfit were the champion Outriding Horses.

Congratulations to the 2017 World Champions, driver Kurt Bensmiller and outrider Casey Knight, and many thanks to all the corporate partners, broadcast partners, support staff and chuckwagon fans all along the 2017 WPCA Pro Tour. Enjoy a safe and prosperous off-season, and we will see you all in 2018.

Billy Melville

GMC 2017