News

Gary Gorst Makes A Charge And Takes Top Time On Night 3 Of The 2017 Battle Of The Rockies


Gary Gorst - First Place On Night 3 In Rocky Mountain House
Photo By Paul Easton

It was the third consecutive perfect night of chuckwagon racing at the final stop of the 2017 WPCA Pro Tour at the Battle of the Rockies in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta. Kurt Bensmiller, in search of his second World Chuckwagon Championship, came into the show leading the way, With every passing run, Bensmiller inches closer to capturing the year end prize of being World Champion Chuckwagon Driver will be declared Sunday afternoon.

Day money on night 3 went to Gary Gorst who piloted his MRC Global outfit to a 1:16.36 from barrel 2 in heat 7. That run was exactly 2 tenths of a second faster than Roger Moore who placed second on the night. Logan Gorst and Obrey Motowylo dead heated in heat number eight and split third and fourth on the night, while John Walters filled out the top five on the evening.

It appeared a two-second penalty to Dustin Gorst might have changed the overall leaderboard, but during the review period the peanalty was removed and after three runs, Dustin Gorst continues to lead the overall aggregate standings with a three-run total time of 3:49.39. That puts him 37 one-hundredths of a second in front of Mark Sutherland who sits in second place overall. Gary Gorst moved up into 3rd place overall, while Logan Gorst and John Walters sit 4th and 5th respectively, The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will take home the 2017 Battle of the Rockies Championship.

The final day of the final stop of the 2017 WPCA Pro Tour at the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House can be heard live on Sunday afternoon August 20, 2017 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, and 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta, starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central and 2:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

 


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort