Final Four Set At 2017 Battle Of The North; Jason Glass Takes Top Time On Night Four

Jason Glass - Takes The Day Money On Night 4 In Dawson Creek
Photo By Paul Easton

The final 4 that will compete in Sunday’s sudden death championship final heat where the winner will take home $10,000.00 and the 2017 Battle of the North Championship has now been set. Chanse Vigen, John Walters, Rick Fraser and Mitch Sutherland will battle it out for the 2017 championship of Dawson Creek, British Columbia.

Despite 4 seconds in outriding penalties, Chanse Vigen, driving for his injured father Mike Vigen, drove the Briar Ridge Stock Farm outfit to a first place overall aggregate finish after posting the best 4 day aggregate time of 5:01.91. John Walters qualified in 2nd place overall 1.09 seconds behind the leader Chanse Vigen, with two-time Battle of the North Champion Rick Fraser qualifying in 3rd place overall, with Mitch Sutherland holding onto 4th place overall to grab the final spot in Sunday’s final. Chad Fike placed 5th overall and missed a spot in Sunday’s final by 66 one-hundreds of a second.

As far as the day results go, Jason Glass, driving the Birchcliff Energy Ltd. Outfit, posted the top time of the night with a run of 1:14.32 from barrel number 4 in the 7th heat. Vern Nolin was 39 one-hundredths of a second behind the day winner Jason Glass, with Kirk Sutherland placing 3rd, Troy Dorchester and Chad Harden rounding out the top five runs on the evening.

The finals of the Battle of the North Championship from Dawson Creek, British Columbia for the Battle of the North can be heard live on Sunday night, August 13, 2017 on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, and 7:30pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, and 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta.

Billy Melville

2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort