News

John Walters Opens Up The 2017 Strathmore Stampede With The Top Run


John Walters - Day Money Run On Opening Night In Strathmore
Photo By Carol Easton

After a successful show in Bonnyville, the WPCA Pro Tour embarked on Strathmore for the Strathmore Stampede where Gary Gorst came into this years event as the defending champion. It was a warm but windy summer evening, track conditions were excellent, and last week’s Bonnyville Chuckwagon Champion John Walters continued his winning ways by cashing in first prize on the night.

From barrel position number 3 in the 8th heat, Walters, driving the Rob Knight Trucklines outfit, posted the fast time of the night with a run of 1:14.75. Second place on the night went to Chad Harden, 47 one-hundredths of a second behind the Walters wagon, with Logan Gorst, Evan Salmond and Chanse Vigen rounding out the top five on the night. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time will be crowned the 2017 Strathmore Heritage Days Stampede champion.

Night 2 of the Strathmore Stampede can be heard live on Saturday, August 5, 2017 starting at 9:00pm ET, 8:00pm CT and 7:00pm MT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Billy Melville


2016 Wrangler Advanced Comfort