News

Final Four Set At 2017 Ponoka Stampede; Chanse Vigen Takes Top Time On The Night

Chanse Vigen - Tops All On Night 5 In Ponoka
Photo By Paul Easton

It was Semi Final Sunday at the 2017 Ponoka Stampede as eight drivers running in two heats were trying to survive the semi-final round and looking for a spot in Sunday’s $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship Final Heat.

When it all played out, Gary Gorst, Kurt Bensmiller, Layne MacGillivray and Evan Salmond survived the semi-final round and will comprise the $50,000.00 Tommy Dorchester Championship final heat. Logan Gorst ended up in the crying hole and missed the winner-take-all final by 72 one-hundredths of a second. Chad Harden, Layne Bremner and defending Ponoka Stampede Champion Colt Cosgrave also competed in Saturday night’s semi final round.

On the day, it was Chanse Vigen who won the day money with the fast time of the week with a penalty free run of 1:15.04. From barrel number two in the seventh heat on the evening, Vigen, driving the Go Uncle Ben's RV outfit was the fast man on the day by 45 one-hundredths of a second over Rick Fraser. Third place belonged to Gary Gorst, with Kirk Sutherland and Kurt Bensmiller filling out the top five on the night.

The finals of the 2017 Ponoka Stampede Championship can be heard on WPCA Pro Tour LIVE on Sunday night, July 2, 2017 at 8:00pm Eastern, 7:00pm Central, and 6:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville


 


2016 GMC Canyon Static728x90