News

Championship Final Set For 2017 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede

Jason Glass - Tops All On Night 3 In Medicine Hat
Photo By Paul Easton

Weather conditions were perfect, as were race track conditions for day 3 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede. It was the final night for the drivers to try and qualify for the championship final heat on Sunday afternoon. When the afternoon was complete Luke Tournier, Kurt Bensmiller and Doug Irvine will be the three drivers bidding for the 2017 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

It originally appeared that Kurt Benmsiller for the second consecutive year had qualified for championship final in first place overall, but during the appeal hour, a late outrider penalty was removed from Luke Tournier giving him first place with a three-day combined time of 3:07.80. Kurt Bensmiller grabbed second place overall, 11 one-hundredths of a second behind the aggregate leader Tournier, with defending Medicine Hat Champion Doug Irvine grabbing the third and final qualifying spot in Sunday’s final. Evan Salmond, who had originally thought he had qualified for Sunday’s championship final, ended up in the crying hole, placing fourth overall and missed the winner-take-all final by just 50 one-hundredths of a second, with Mitch Sutherland rounding out the top five overall.

As far as day results are concerned, Jason Glass had the fast time of the night from barrel one in the eleventh heat. Glass’ Birchcliff Energy outfit won top day money by 32 one-hundredths of a second over Doug Irvine. Evan Salmond placed third, while Cody Ridsdale and Mitch Sutherland placed fourth and fifth respectively on the night.

The finals of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Sunday afternoon, June 18, 2017 starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time at Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville


Grey Eagle Casino 728x90