News

Gary Gorst Vaults To The Top The Leaderboard After A Day Money Run On Night 2 In Medicine Hat


Gary Gorst - First Place In All Categories On Night 2 In Medicine Hat
Photo By Paul Easton

It was a good night of racing on night 2 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede. Despite on and off showers, racetrack conditions were very good and some outstanding chuckwagon races were witnessed by a near capacity crowd. When the night wrapped up, it was last week’s champion in Saskatoon, Gary Gorst, who had the fast time of the night with a penalty free run of 1:02.21.

Coming off barrel number 1 in heat number 9, Gorst, driving the HJR Asphalt outfit placed first overall for the day by 56 one-hundredths of a second over Chad Fike who placed 2nd on the night. 2017 Grande Prairie Stompede champion Obrey Motowylo was third, with Chad Harden and John Walters rounding out the top 5 fastest times for the night. Dayton Sutherland and Blaid Flad were involved in a tangle up in the opening heat on the evening and both drivers were unable to complete their race. Both drivers were fine, while one horse was taken off site for further evaluation.

The day money run puts Gary Gorst atop the overall aggregate standings with a two day total time of 2:05.30. That puts him just 1 one-hundredth of a second better than day 1 winner Kurt Bensmiller. Luke Tournier sits third, followed closely John Walters and Layne MacGillivray in fourth and fifth place respectively.

The top 3 drivers in the aggregate standings after Saturday night will go into Sunday’s winner-take-all championship final heat. Winner of Sunday’s final wins the 2017 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

Day 3 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Saturday, June 17, 2017 starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time Thursday through Saturday with a matinee performance on Sunday at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, and 2:00pm Mountain time at Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta.

Billy Melville

 


2016 GMC Canyon Static728x90